Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 13th, 2008

The economy is a little scary right now. I am taking this time to try and learn more simple ways of doing things. I’m trying to learn from others who have already done some of this.

In the last year (plus) I have been blogging and reading other eco-bloggers, I have learned a good many ways of living more simply.

My consumer purchases are almost non-existent now. A few weeks ago a friend asked me what I wanted for Christmas (and after I said “nothing” and she put her hand on her hip and said “that won’t happen”) I told her I needed new underwear. She smiled and got my size. Of course she thinks I’m a little nuts, but respects my nuttiness. She is happy when I give her fresh fruit out of my garden or send her plants to grow her own goodies. She is amazed when I find her what she needs at half the price of what she would normally need to spend. She is even starting to keep track of her monthly electrical usage after I told her what I was using and noticed that her bill (with twice the square footage) was five times what mine was.

OK – here is where I could use some assistance. Cooking from scratch.

I’d love to learn how to bake bread, but with my three ingredient mentality (I rarely cook anything with more than three ingredients) I find this process pretty intimidating. Any easy recipes out there for bread?

How about really inexpensive meals that use rice or pasta? I do pasta with pasta sauce (and maybe meat) and pasta with pesto… but are there other ideas? I generally use rice as a way to spread chili or soups, but are there good rice dishes that are pretty easy to prepare, taste good and are not too expensive?

Thanks.

Read Full Post »