Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 28th, 2009

Yesterday I received a call from a friend. We are not close friends – more two people with mutual friends who run into each other from time-to-time at events. She offered me dinner and an extra ticket to the theater that evening with our mutual friends (her husband was ill.) It was an incredibly kind gesture… but I declined. I had all kinds of excuses – the fire was going, I’ve been up since 4am, I was snuggled under a quilt and was comfy, I hadn’t showered for the day, etc. Mostly things that could have easily been altered to go out.

Now, I find myself wishing I had done everything I could have to go last night. I would have loved to have seen the play – “A Christmas Story,” I know she is an incredible cook, and she is also a wonderful person and I would love to get to know her better.

The problem…I am a home-body… almost to the extent that going out is so uncomfortable that I just don’t do it. The phone call with this friend yesterday got me thinking about a change I need to make…

New Year’s Resolution #1:

I am going to make an effort to get out of my comfort zone in 2010.

I currently have invitations for events on New Year’s Eve, New Year’s Day, and January 2nd – and have already been thinking of excuses for not going to any of them. So, for those of you who get up, get out and socialize… what is the secret?

Read Full Post »