Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 5th, 2010

Line Drying in the Winter

It is 15 degrees outside – with a negative 1 degree windshield – and I took a few wet sheets outside to dry on the line.

THIS IS INSANE!

OK, those of you who do this on a regular basis… how do you manage without freezing your fingers with the wet fabric? I was only out for a few minutes and only had three large sheets to hang, and by the time I got back inside I thought my poor fingers were going to fall off. The knit gloves I was wearing did me very little good.

I have one sheet hanging in my sunroom on a line, and several towels and pillowcases hanging off of hangers in the laundry room. It is about time to do jeans and sweatshirts, and I’m not sure how I will dry all of these smaller pieces inside – or handle them outside with the cold.

I may very possibly break down and take my wet laundry to the laundry mat to dry, which really defeats the purpose of me not having a dryer.

Read Full Post »